Top 5 Douchiest Songs

We’ve all heard these songs and probably even sung along to them. Some of them might even be favourites. But if we stop for a minute to really think about them, it’s as plain as daylight – these are songs drenched in douchebaggery.

#5. The Hardest Thing – 98 Degrees

First of all, before you start judging me, I don’t listen to these guys anymore. I just happen to have a couple of their songs on my playlist. Alright, FINE… maybe more than just a couple. But that’s not even the point. This has got to be one of the douchiest pop songs from the 90s. Case in point, the lyrics:

I’ve got somewhere else to be
Promises to keep
Someone else who loves me
And trusts me fast asleep
I’ve made up my mind
There is no turning back
She’s been good to me
And she deserves better than that

#4. The Call – Backstreet Boys

This is the last boy band song on the list, I promise. But before I begin my diatribe, wasn’t this song awesome? A catchy tune, cute guys, and a pretty awesome music video. All in all, a fun song to sing along in the car with your girl friends… But then you listen to the lyrics:

I should’ve said no
Someone’s waiting for me
But I got my coat, called and said
Listen baby, I’m sorry
Just want to tell you don’t worry
I will be late
Don’t stay up and wait for me

How the heck did this song top the charts and bag a couple of those MTV awards?? Oh wait…

#3. Break Your Heart – Taio Cruz

Enough said.

#2. Lips of an Angel – Hinder

The first time I listened to the song, I went from ‘Aww’ to ‘WTF’ in literally less than 30 seconds. Here’s a guy who’s got a nice girlfriend who’s sitting in the next room oblivious that her boyfriend (aka douchebag) sometimes wished she was, in fact, his ex? How does that even happen?? This song would have totally won the douchebag competition if it hadn’t been for our next contender…

#1. Beth – Kiss

Beth, I hear you callin’
But I can’t come home right now
Me and the boys are playin’
And we just can’t find the sound

For those who haven’t gotten it yet, it’s not a love song. Just because it sounds like a ballad, doesn’t mean it is one. The guy is basically picking his friends over the girl…and from the sound of it, it’s not just that one time. What a douche!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Douchiest Songs

Leave a Reply

