Mini Rant

At 28, I’m proud to say, I no longer want what I thought I wanted from life (read: a good-paying job and designer shoes).

Now, I have a vague idea of what I really do want…I want to travel, I want to write and I don’t want to live life by the rules. And I think it’s perfectly fine not to want to do ‘one thing’ your entire life.

It’s funny; while I was growing up, people around me would keep telling me to be different and that I should try and “stand out from the crowd”. But now that I’m all “grown up” and doing exactly what I want, it’s no longer good enough. Nope, now I have to do exactly what others around me are doing… get married, have kids, buy a house, a car… the whole enchilada!

Well you know what, screw rules and screw trying to keep everyone happy. When you’re 80 and bed-ridden, you’re totally going to regret listening to your great aunt and marring the shrew/grouch snoring next to you. All you’re going to think of then will be the trips that you cancelled because you had important meetings and/or not opening up that bookstore in the city of your dreams.

This is your life and you just get to live it once. So start living it!

* end of rant *

Leave a Reply

