I Am Who I Am

Every time you stand in front of the mirror, do you like what you see? I certainly don’t. In fact, I go through great lengths to make sure I avoid all reflective surfaces. But it seems there are mirrors everywhere… as I wait for the elevator, I try not to stare at my reflection in the floor-length mirrors… I step into the elevator and bam! I’m surrounded by mirrors… mirrors, mirrors, mirrors – everywhere.

Each time I see myself, I find something to hate. My nose, my unruly hair, my thighs (oh God!)… When did I become this person? I don’t think a single blog post – or even an entire lifetime for that matter – can help me deal with these inane issues. But hey, it’s a work in progress.

Then I realise it’s not just me. All my friends do it too. We are constantly criticising our bodies and striving for a kind of perfection that does not exist. Why do we even do this to ourselves? My body is mine. I need to treat it better… love it for what it is. Why are we ready to love others unconditionally but not ourselves?

Recently, I came across this unique project by a brilliant photographer called Matt Blum (thanks to Reddit and my favourite subreddit TwoXChromosomes) : [NSFW] The Nu Project. The Project features nudes of ‘real’ women (right now, mainly from North and South America) – no models, or glamour shots… just the women and images that portray their personal stories. I’m in love! Participation is completely voluntary and I really hope someday I’m confident (and brave enough) to do this. (In fact, participating in the project is now on my Bucket list.)

Look at the gorgeous women. They are comfortable in their skin and proud of who they are/what they look like. I want to be in that place… When I can look in the mirror and be proud of the reflection that looks back at me.

One thought on “I Am Who I Am

Leave a Reply

