Growing up in the 90s

The 90s was a fantastic decade to grow up in! We had awesome TV shows like Buffy, Roswell and Charmed; pop music wasn’t about being a ‘Stupid hoe’; we read magazines like Smash Hits; watched awesome cartoons like Duck Tales and TMNT; and decorated everything with glitter. Yep! Good ‘ol days indeed.

Here’s a list of my favourite things from the 90s:

Boy bands: Boyzone, Backstreet Boys, N Sync, Five (or 5ive), Ultra, 911, A1, Another Level, O-Town, Code Red… I’m gonna stop right there. Looking back, I often wonder why I even spent my precious pocket money on half those records (audio tapes and then CDs) but boy, was I hooked!

MTV: Remember the days when MTV actually played music videos? And awesome ones at that too! I ‘discovered’ bands like Metallica, Pearl Jam, Nirvana, R.E.M. etc. solely thanks to MTV. (Yes, I did listened to all those bands in the 90s as well.)

Freddie Prinze Jr.: If you were a dorky girl back in high school – heck, any girl for that matter – I totally bet you had fantasies about meeting a guy like Zack Siler who’d sweep you off your feet. All my teenage fantasies revolved around Zack, come to think of it.

Fear Street: If you grew up in the 90s and without reading Fear Street (or for some others, Sweet Valley High) then I feel sorry for you. My Fear Street collection was something I was really proud of and I think I’ve read almost all the books in the series. Party Summer was my favourite.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: How the heck did we go from the likes of Angel and Spike to Edward Cullen? Tsk. Tsk.

Top of the Pops (magazine): I remember saving up aaaall my pocket money to buy TOPT. I’d immediately pull out the gigantic poster and put it up on my wall… and then do the same with the single/double page posters. Yes, my wall resembled a decoupage box.

Young Times: Which kid growing up in the Middle East in the 90s didn’t read YT? Best magazine ever!

4 thoughts on “Growing up in the 90s

Leave a Reply

