Day 5: A Book I Love

Just one? ONE!?! I’m picking 10. And since I haven’t continued with the ‘nostalgia posts’, I have decided to combine both in this post. So top 10 books that I remember reading during the 90s:

1. Killing Mr Griffin by Lois Duncan – A group of teengers plan to kidnap their English teacher and things (as expected) go horribly wrong. I remember desperately wanting to come back home from school just so that I could finish reading the book! (It was exam time and I couldn’t carry it to school with me.)

2. My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier – I liked this book better than Rebecca actually. I’m not going to talk about why I love it because, you know, spoilers.

3. Party Summer by R.L. Stine – I admit, this book has no literary value as such. But it was this book that inspired me to go on a collosal writing spree. I spent the whole summer of ’97 writing short stories and discovered I actually enjoyed writing more than anything else.

4. Daddy Long Legs by Jean Webster

5. The Horse Whisperer by Nicholas Evans

6. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy – Although I was perhaps a little too young to understand some of the allusive subplots, this book completely blew my mind nonetheless.

7. It by Stephen King

8. Rage of Angels by Sidney Sheldon – Actually any book by Sidney Sheldon. My friends and I would devour his books.

9. Drop Shot by Harlan Coben – The book that got me hooked. I’ve read almost all his books now.

10. Little Women by Lousia May Alcott

Leave a Reply

