Daily Prompt: Prized Possession

Today’s Daily Prompt:

Describe an item you were incredibly attached to as a child. What became of it?

I like to think I wasn’t petty or materialist as a child. But who am I kidding? Growing up, I had quite a few “prized possessions” – most of which I don’t even own anymore – like my Enid Blyton books, Polly Pocket, My Little Pony figurines, troll figurines (the ones with funky coloured hair), a gigantic teddy I called ‘papa bear’ (yep, from Goldilocks)… you get the idea.

However, today’s daily prompt couldn’t have come at a better time (for slightly different reasons). Here’s why:

When I was about 6 or 7 I had a navy blue dress with white polka dots. It was my FAVOURITE. During my summer vacations, mom and I made our annual trip to India and of course, the dress came along with us. And like every time, my maashi (aunt) and her daughter dropped by to meet us. My cousin is just a few years younger than I – yes, I guess at this point you know where this is going.

For some reason, which I do not recall at the moment, my cousin needed a change of clothes. Needless to say my maashi grabbed that dress and (unfortunately) it fitted my cousin perfectly. “I’m keeping this dress, alright?” she announced to no one in particular and my mom being her typical nonchalant self, just shrugged and said, “Sure.”

I couldn’t believe it! My favourite dress! My eyes welled up with tears but I didn’t say anything – and that’s where this particular memory ends…

But it’s not where this post ends though.

A few weeks back I shared this story with a friend of mine. And guess what? He surprised me by ordering a similar dress online and had it shipped over. I’m still stunned by his act of kindness.

THANK YOU! Thank you! Thank you!

But most of all, thanks for adding yet another item on my prized possessions’ list: an awesome friend.

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Prized Possession

  1. Pingback: Humpty Dumpty is Starting to Smell . . . | Pondering Spawned

  2. Pingback: You’re Too Slow! A Story About My Experience With the Sonic Games | Eyes Through The Glass - A Blog About Asperger's

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: One Of The Sixty. | paul scribbles

  5. Pingback: Old Glove Old Desk Old Sweater Old Me | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: Droopy Drawers | The Daily Dilly Dally

Leave a Reply

